20th Century Literature Peer Review #2

For this week I’ll be reviewing Delaura’s blog post titled ‘Wilfred Owen’ which is available here.

Delaura,
As I was searching for a post to review this week, your letter addressed to Wilfred Owen jumped out at me straight away because of its poetic expression and sincerity. I really love how you connected Owen’s descriptions of the horrors of war with the horrors we are faced with here in 2020: a global pandemic, devastating bushfires, the deaths of people of colour at the hands of police. Your letter gave me the sense that you not only connected meaningfully with Owen’s poem ‘Dulce et Decorum Est’ but that you feel so strongly about the many wars and battles our 21st century life holds.
Indeed, your use of anaphora throughout the letter, as well as your subtle alliteration, mirrors the poetic language of Owen’s poetry. You write with care and poise, and within a relatively short amount of words, you have expressed so much so well. I’m looking forward to reading more of your blog posts!
My only suggestion regarding how your post could be improved is to go into a bit more depth describing Owen’s poetry, perhaps utilising quotes from ‘Dulce et Decorum Est’ and addressing specific sections.
All the best for the semester ahead,
Georgia

Leave a comment